The Sandover Medal has been awarded annually since 1921 to the fairest and best player in the West Australian Football League. The award was donated by Alfred Sandover M.B.E., a prominent Perth hardware merchant and benefactor.

After each match, the three field umpires (those umpires who control the flow of the game) confer and award a 3, 2 and 1 point vote to the players they regard as the best, second best and third best in the match respectively. Voting has changed over the years, with 5,4,3,2 and 1 point votes awarded between 1985 and 2018. From 1930-1984 the current 3,2,1 system was used, and prior to 1930 there was only one vote per game.

On the awards night, the votes over the home and away (regular) season are tallied and the eligible player with the highest number of votes is awarded the medal. In the past, ties were decided on a countback system, but since 1985 it is possible for multiple medals to be awarded in the event of a tie.

Prior to 1930 when only 1 vote per game was given, and hence a countback was not possible, the WAFL presidents would cast a deciding vote to decide the winner. Players that had missed out on a medal due to the countback system were awarded them retrospectively in 1997.

Sandover Medalists
Season Winner Club Votes
2023Hamish BrayshawEast Perth26
2022Blaine BoekhorstEast Fremantle25
2021Bailey RogersClaremont30
2020Samuel FisherSwan Districts13
2019Lachlan DelahuntySubiaco28
2018Jye BoltonClaremont52
2017Haiden SchloitheSouth Fremantle52
2016Jye BoltonClaremont49
2015Aidan TropianoPerth47
2014Aaron BlackWest Perth47
2013Rory ObrienEast Fremantle55
2012Kane MitchellClaremont58
2011Luke BlackwellClaremont42
2010Andrew KrakouerSwan Districts44
2009Ross YoungPerth45
2008Hayden BallantynePeel Thunder41
2007Anthony JonesClaremont29
2006Matthew PriddisSubiaco58
2005Toby McgrathSouth Fremantle39
2005Jaxon CrabbClaremont39
2004Allistair PickettSubiaco42
2003Shane BerosSwan Districts39
2002Allistair PickettPeel Thunder33
2001Ryan TurnbullEast Perth31
2000Richard AmbroseSubiaco34
1999Gus SeebeckPerth33
1998Adrian BromageEast Fremantle32
1997Brady AndersonEast Perth30
1996Jeremy WasleySwan Districts37
1995Craig TrelevenEast Fremantle43
1994Ian DargieSubiaco34
1993Neil MildenhallWest Perth38
1992Robert WestWest Perth32
1991Ian DargieSubiaco34
1990Mick GrassoSwan Districts36
1989Craig EdwardsSouth Fremantle39
1988David BainEast Perth42
1987Mark WatsonPerth30
1986Mark BairstowSouth Fremantle39
1985Murray WrenstedEast Fremantle46
1984Michael MitchellClaremont17
1984Peter SpencerEast Perth17
1984Stephen MalaxosClaremont17
1983Bryan CousinsPerth16
1983John IronmongerEast Perth16
1982Phillip NarkleSwan Districts19
1981Stephen MichaelSouth Fremantle37
1980Stephen MichaelSouth Fremantle24
1979Phil KellyEast Perth24
1978Phil KellyEast Perth26
1977Brian PeakeEast Fremantle24
1976Peter SpencerEast Perth21
1975Alan QuartermaineEast Perth16
1974Graham MelroseEast Fremantle20
1973Barry CablePerth25
1972Ian MillerPerth20
1971David HollinsEast Fremantle26
1970William (Bill) WalkerSwan Districts17
1970Pat DaltonPerth17
1969Malcolm BrownEast Perth21
1968Barry CablePerth25
1967John ParkinsonClaremont19
1967William (Bill) WalkerSwan Districts19
1966William (Bill) WalkerSwan Districts20
1965William (Bill) WalkerSwan Districts24
1964Barry CablePerth23
1963Ray SorrellEast Fremantle20
1962Haydn Bunton (jun)Swan Districts22
1961Neville BeardPerth22
1961Ray SorrellEast Fremantle22
1960Graham (Polly) FarmerEast Perth26
1959Timothy FoleyWest Perth24
1958Ted KilmurrayEast Perth20
1957Graham (Polly) FarmerEast Perth19
1957John (Jack) ClarkeEast Fremantle19
1956Graham (Polly) FarmerEast Perth15
1955John ToddSouth Fremantle25
1954Mervyn McintoshPerth22
1953Mervyn McintoshPerth14
1952Stephen MarshSouth Fremantle20
1951Frederick ButtsworthWest Perth25
1950James ConwayEast Fremantle23
1950Frank AllenEast Perth23
1949Gordon MaffinaClaremont17
1948Mervyn McintoshPerth22
1947Clive LewingtonSouth Fremantle22
1946John LoughridgeWest Perth26
1945George BaileyPerth26
1944James DaviesSwan Districts33
1943Terrance MoriartyPerth28
1942Laurence BowenWest Perth13
1941Haydn Bunton (snr)Subiaco22
1940Terence (Checker) O'keefeWest Perth29
1939Haydn Bunton (snr)Subiaco20
1938Haydn Bunton (snr)Subiaco27
1937Frank JenkinsSouth Fremantle34
1936George MoloneyClaremont30
1935Louis DailySubiaco25
1935George KreppSwan Districts25
1934Sydney ClarkeClaremont24
1933Sydney ClarkeClaremont15
1932Keith HoughClaremont32
1931Lindsay RichardsEast Fremantle24
1930Edward FlemmingWest Perth23
1929William (Billy) ThomasEast Perth5
1929John LeonardSubiaco5
1928John RocchiSouth Fremantle5
1927James CraigWest Perth7
1926John LeonardSubiaco6
1925Albert OwensEast Perth4
1924Jim GosnellWest Perth0
1923William (Digger) ThomasEast Perth0
1922Harold BoydWest Perth6
1921Thomas OutridgeSubiaco5
1921Cyril HoftPerth5